Pertinence of what we have to say vs blog stats

stats

So I haven’t posted anything since May 2014. Not surprising as I’m totally absorbed by work at the moment. So what happens to a blog when you don’t post? Although I’ve been with the web since it was created (I was one of the first 100 web users) and have tried everything there is do on the web at least once, just to find out what it is like, I couldn’t have guessed the answer correctly.

Whenever you take your attention away from anything, it tends to fade. Right!?

Right. This blog here, geneticfractals.wordpress.com (from February 2013) tends to attract some traffic when I post a new post, presumably from the 313 followers that take a quick peak at the post. Then after a few days, a week at most, the traffic drops down to a constant 2 visitors a day. This is clearly not a viral blog!

All this is normal and it is all rather pleasing.

But I have another blog, also on the subject of genetic fractals: geneticfractals.org created in June 2013. This blog is somewhat geeky with maths, a bit of computer code and geeky images. It only has 18 followers and whenever I post anything, I rarely get much response.

I haven’t posted anything there either since March 2014. So: few followers, no posts and no traffic right?!

Nope, this geeky genetic fractals blog gets twice the traffic than the wordy solipsistic blog here. 7 visitors come here regardless whether I post or not. For the statisticians among you:

blog geneticfractals.org (geeky) geneticfractals.wordpress.com (wordy)
created June 2013 February 2013
posts 14 81
last post March 2014 May 2014
followers 18 313
traffic after a new post 7 a day 10 a day
traffic in absense of posts 7 a day 2 a day
traffic source search engines followers

Now, none of these numbers are impressive at all and that’s fine, because I’m not seeking traffic. These blogs are personal outlets, like so many blogs.

Getting to the point

The question is: why does one inactive badly designed blog with few followers and fewer posts does so much better than a blog that received a lot of my attention with a few hundred followers?

I think that the answers lies in the pertinence of what we have to say.

In this wordy blog here, I share my thoughts on thoughts, exposing the meanderings of mind. Interesting as some of this is, pretty much anyone has a meandering mind and there must be hundreds of thousands of souls out there sharing this with others. My meanderings are not pertinent; they are ephemeral. If anyone were to google “interesting meanderings of the mind”, they wouldn’t get to my blog – at least not until Google picks up this very phrase from this post!

The geeky blog is a different kettle of fish. There are geeky nuggets here that are unique. No other geek has had these thoughts or taken the time to write them down. But they search for them. Words like genetics, fractals, creation, maths in different combinations will land you at this blog, and you won’t feel cheated by clever tagging.

The ideas on the geeky blog are most definitely pertinent in a scientific footnote sort of way. Geeks in the blogosphere seem to sense that.

So next time I’m looking a blog or any other piece of public content, I shall ask myself: pertinent or ephemeral?

17 thoughts on “Pertinence of what we have to say vs blog stats

  1. How much of that traffic is from earnest individuals concerned that you’re not getting enough traffic, and would like to sell you the means to increase it? I seem to get a slow but steady trickle of that sort of thing.

  2. You have motivated me, a serious art geek. Besides my WP blog, I have a website for my defunct art magazine, Wegway. It has been idle for 2 years but now I see why I should post there as well. Exciting, thanks.

    1. As far as I’m concerned, many of your posts are pertinent, art sketches in their own right. But then, I’ve put artists on a pedestal because they see things that I can’t see without their help. Just had a peak at Wegway; it’s great! I have worked for several magazines as a writer and editor and love them. I love the whole concept of collections of articles contextualized by the trends of the day. (I found the grey type hard to read but perhaps I’m spoiled but today’s promise of instant gratification.)

  3. Welcome back 🙂

    Interesting post: This is totally in line with my findings – when check my ‘top’ posts … it’s the geeky ones on very specific topics.

    I recently complained to a fellow search term poet that I always have the same (geeky) search terms even if I do not cover these topics for some time: I am an authority on: ‘Quantum field theory fo the amateur’, ‘gyroscopes’ (and why they don’t fall), ‘the first heat pump ever built’, and the most important one: ‘How do mice get into microwaves’.

    But nobody searches for ‘random long-winded thoughts on how technology impacts culture’ 😉

    1. Absolutely. I’ve read about SEO tricks like including trending keywords in posts but that strikes me as pointless. But what is much cooler is when your content includes trending keywords that you happen to care about. But it won’t stop me from writing about random long winded thoughts !

      1. I agree – I think much more than 50% of my posts are in the long-winded category… and I am fully aware of the fact that these are not posts that will not attract the masses in the moment I click on Publish 🙂
        I think I write such posts for sorting out my own ideas – and the ‘public’ nature of a blog (so that somebody could read it ‘theoretically’) helps to make the posts a bit more coherent.

  4. I don’t even know what an SEO is! Only recently has “back linking” crossed my horizon, and above all – I write with only one rule in mind – “TMDR, too much didn’t read. (well that, and maybe a smattering of “I could care less if you read, I’m happy”) 🙂

    1. I played in a jazz band for a while and wrote the music. One day this guy says to me: can’t you play something people like? I replied, no, not really, because I play for myself. Don’t mind if you don’t like.

      Writing is the same, which is why you shouldn’t have to live of it to enjoy it.:)

Your turn

