Life under a giant sun

giant sun

I live on the foothills of the Jura mountains and at this time of year we often get fog in the valley. On such days we wake up to a beautiful sun, set in a deep blue sky. Then, as I drive into the valley to go to work, I descend into a fog which evolves into a low hanging cloud.

As I drove into the fog, the sun was ahead of me and I was blinded by its brightness. I had never seen this before but the fog worked like a lens and made the sun at least three time the normal size.

I’m 53.

I love science and nature.

And I had never seen this.

What other huge things have I missed that are ridiculously obvious? Strangely enough, I have often taken the opposite viewpoint in life. I look at the things that appear to be the same, only to realize that they are completely different.

I once watched a documentary on the British artist David Hockney. He does something that I do: he goes to the same place for years and notices that nothing is the same day from one day to the next. He has made the same painting over and over again. They are all different.

david-hockney

Nothing is ever the same. It is probably what defines the difference between reality and our scientific or artistic interpretations of reality, where we pour our perception into a mold and are happy to believe that our molded perception in immutable and real.

Buddhists recognize the fleetingness of reality. They contend that reality flows, that it is like a whirlpool in a river. The whirlpool may appear to be the same but the water that it is made off flows incessantly.

The giant sun I saw this morning  is poking fun at all this subtle philosophy. It is a big WTF in the sky that appears to be saying: don’t worry about the details, just enjoy.

OK.

9 thoughts on “Life under a giant sun

  1. Calm down, calm down. I can explain all this. On your way to work this morning a rift occurred in the spacetime continuum, a tiny tear which just so happened to be directly ahead and slight above where you physically were. Thus, in effect, as it is perfectly obvious, you saw the sky as it will look in 4 billion years time as Sol begins to swell.

Your turn

