Images from a genetic fractal universe

test73a

Back in 2014 I excitedly announced the birth of a genetic fractal universe in my post “postcard from a new universe”. I then went on and blogged about spring and the joys of travel. Such are the meanderings of a distracted mind. But that new universe never went away. Recently I developed a random genetic fractal generator that essential explores this new universe and produces forms that have followed the seeds of the early expansion in this new world. After wading through some 500 of these, I have made a small selection for you.

Here is the deal: these are new forms that have never been seen by anyone. You can perhaps imagine my state of wonder as these images started appearing on my MacBook. It reminded me of the time when I learned scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef when I saw anemones and tropical fish in their natural habitat. The newness of it, the awesomeness.

Enjoy, I won’t say too much.

test80a

The human mind is trained to recognize function. It is hard to look at this image and not assign function to yellow pods, the white orifice or the purple organs.

test139a

No title needed here. Are these really random forms from a genetic fractal universe?

test79a

Sometimes forms reflect forces. It begs the question: what fundamental forces govern the genetic fractal universe?

test62a

These original forms could be anything. Plants? Flowers? Fungi? Viruses?

test40a

On earth, certain organisms grow underground and only show their fruits on the surface. Mushrooms behave like this. They have massive underground networks of mycelium that surface in the shape of mushrooms.

test054

Japanese zen Buddhists have long understood that space cannot exist without the form that envelopes it. In that sense these genetic fractal forms create the very space and the fabric of this universe. In a surprising way, they give meaning where there isn’t. Or is there?

7 thoughts on “Images from a genetic fractal universe

    1. Didn’t know this sculpturer – thanks – we’re in the same intellectual artistic space 🙂

      Progress is slow but it is there. I remember you suggesting that it would be interesting get these fractals to mate and look at their offspring. I’m now able to do this with the genetic fractals in this post. So, the waiting (9+ months) is nearly over.

Your turn